About us

Atlantic-community.org is the first online foreign policy think tank, and is primarily focused on issues affecting transatlantic relations. Launched in 2007 as a project of Atlantische Initiative e.V., based in Berlin and led by Dr. Johannes Bohnen and Jan-Friedrich Kallmorgen, our mission is to encourage open and democratic dialogue on the challenges facing Europe and North America. We believe that these challenges – from economic crises to counteracting terrorism – can only be solved through close cooperation.

Atlantic-community.org is member-driven; our community of over 8,000 members encourages everyone, regardless of geographic location, to have a say on issues impacting the transatlantic community. We especially want to provide a voice for a new generation of thinkers and young leaders, giving them the opportunity to publish and debate side by side with established experts, and to have their policy ideas seen by senior officials. This gives our members real political influence, while decision-makers benefit from the next generation's fresh ideas.

Our main section is the Open Think Tank, where op-eds written by members and edited by our staff are published on a daily basis. Readers comment on the ideas and suggestions presented in the articles, and the editorial staff then condenses the debates into Atlantic Memos – executive summaries that harness the collective intelligence of the community, and present the best solutions and policy recommendations. These memos are sent to policy makers in over 27 countries in Europe and North America for their consideration.

How atlantic-community.org works

Atlantic-community.org also has numerous special features, sections, and events that promote debate and cooperative solutions to transatlantic issues and provide our members with access to policy makers. These include periodic "theme weeks" that focus on a particular issue and present a selection of member articles alongside established experts in that area. We also hold Policy Workshop Competitions where the winners get to present their ideas in person to government officials, as well as Q&As that allow members to ask direct questions of senior policy makers.

Atlantic-community.org was re-launched in November 2012. Articles published between 2007 until the re-launch are archived and fully accessible here

Membership is free. Become a member of our community today and join in the debate with your fellow citizens and peers. (See the buttons in the top right corner.)

Learn more about the highlights of our work or read the testimonials or contact us.


Joerg Wolf is project manager and editor-in-chief of atlantic-community.org. Jörg studied political science at the Free University of Berlin and worked as a research associate for the International Risk Policy project at the Free University's Center for Transatlantic Foreign and Security Policy. He has been a Fulbright Scholar at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore and Washington D.C. and has worked for the Friedrich Ebert Foundation in Cairo and in Berlin. He can be reached at: wolf(at)atlantic-community(dot)org.

Svea Burmester is head of outreach at atlantic-community.org. She has an MA in Political Science from the Leibniz Universität Hannover and is currently writing her PhD on American Public Diplomacy. For her semester abroad, she joined the TransAtlantic Masters Program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Before moving to Berlin, she was a research assistant for the Amerika Haus e.V. NRW. She can be reached at: burmester(at)atlantische-initiative(dot)org.

Neil Thompson is an editorial intern at Atlantic-community.org and studied for a Master of the Arts in International Relations: East Asia at the University of Durham. He also holds an MA in International Relations from St Andrews University. His major areas of interest are American foreign policy in East Asia and the Middle East. He hopes to continue a career in the voluntary sector following 2014.

Katherine Lindemann is an editorial intern at atlantic-community.org. She holds a BA in international relations and is currently a student of political science in the TransAtlantic Masters Program at the Humboldt and Free Universities of Berlin. Her areas of focus include transatlantic relations, German foreign policy, and non-state actors.

Founding Directors

Dr. Johannes Bohnen studied international relations at Georgetown's School of Foreign Service and received his doctorate degree from Oxford University. Following positions with several think tanks, the German Bundestag and the German government, he was founder and managing director of Scholz & Friends Agenda, a public affairs agency in Berlin. Johannes is a partner at Bohnen Kallmorgen & Partner, a consultancy for policy analysis and strategic communications in Berlin.

Jan-Friedrich Kallmorgen is trained as an historian and holds a master's degree from Georgetown's School of Foreign Service. He has worked in journalism and as a business consultant in Washington, D.C., and was an investment manager with Goldman, Sachs & Co from 2000 to 2003. From 2004 to 2007 he served as head of the Transatlantic Program at the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP) and is now a partner at Bohnen Kallmorgen & Partner, a consultancy for policy analysis and strategic communications in Berlin.

Advisory Board Members of the Atlantic Initiative

  • Dr. Rudolf Adam, German Embassy, Moskau
  • Prof. Dr. Arnulf Baring, Historian, Berlin
  • Dr. Christoph Bertram, Hamburg
  • Dr. Philipp v. Boehm-Bezing, BBSC Boehm-Bezing, Sieger & Cie., Stuttgart
  • Dr. Mark Brzezinski, Ambassador of the United States in Schweden, Washington, DC
  • Jürgen Chrobog, BMW Stiftung Herbert Quandt, Berlin
  • Thomas L. Farmer, American Bankers Association, Washington, D.C.
  • Dr. Klaus-Dieter Frankenberger, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt
  • Dr. Jeffrey Gedmin, Chief Executive Officer, Legatum Institute, London
  • Prof. Dr. Helga Haftendorn, Berlin
  • Dr. John C. Hulsman, President, John C. Hulsman Enterprises
  • Dr. Michael J. Inacker, Metro AG, Berlin
  • Dr. Jackson Janes, Director, American Institute for Contemporary German Studies, Washington, D.C.
  • Marvin Kalb, Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.
  • Dr. Walther Leisler Kiep, Chairman Emeritus, Atlantik-Brücke, Berlin
  • Eckart von Klaeden, Minister of State at the Federal Chancellery, Berlin
  • Hans-Ulrich Klose, Member of Parliament, Committee on Foreign Relations, Berlin
  • John Kornblum, Senior Counsellor, Noerr, Berlin
  • Dr. Charles Kupchan, Council on Foreign Relations, Washington, D.C.
  • Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Member of European Parliament, Brussels
  • Dr. Kurt J. Lauk, Chairman, CDU Business Council (Wirtschaftsrat), Berlin
  • Dr. Beate Lindemann, Executive Vice-Chairmann, Atlantik-Forum, Berlin
  • Heike MacKerron, Senior Director for Europe, German Marshall Fund of the United States, Berlin
  • Philipp Mißfelder, Member of Parliament, Foreign Policy Spokesperson for the CDU/CSU Faction
  • Dr. Norbert Otten, Direktor Policy Issues, Daimler AG, Stuttgart
  • Cem Özdemir, Chairman Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Berlin
  • Ruprecht Polenz, Member of Parliament, Chairman Committee on Foreign Relations, Berlin
  • Avi Primor, Former Israeli Ambassador to Germany, Tel Aviv
  • Andrew Rasiej, Founder and Publisher, Personal Democracy Forum, New York
  • Prof. Dr. Eberhard Sandschneider, Director, German Council on Foreign Relations, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. H.c. Horst M. Teltschik, Former President Boeing Germany, Berlin
  • Karsten D. Voigt, Former Coordinator of German-American Cooperation, Foreign Office, Berlin
  • Lord Wallace, House of Lords, London

Contact us